One day at work… why do I want the digital lifestyle so bad !

With this post I wanted to take you through one of my typical day at work just to help you understand why I want that digital life so badly. I am the Facility and Health and Safety Leader for a big multinational headquarters, my wage is far from bad but working just to get the pay check is really not very inspiring.

I have some fantastic colleagues and thank god for that because the rest of the employees are quite high maintenance! Being a Facility Manager means that you have to be at disposal of everyone and you are expected to jump straight away whenever there is a problem (i.e. the toilets are not cleaned, it is too hot, it is too cold, the air is too dry, the photocopier is not working properly etc. etc.). When you are managing a building with 350 people, it is a bit stressful at times and that is only the half of my job 😉 The other half is taken by the Health and Safety side and that is not much better, there is a lot of policies and procedures to write and implement, risk assessments to do and to tell you the truth, it is a bit boring.

My main problem is that I worked for 10 years for the International Committee of the Red Cross where I travelled extensively, worked in various countries in Africa, Middle East and Asia and had the most motivating job helping victims of war. So now, I am always comparing what I am doing with what I used to do and frankly speaking the comparison doesn’t fare well for my current job lol!

People around me are constantly stressed, overworked and afraid of loosing their job. Due to the overall world economy, a lot of my colleagues have been made redundant and not been replaced so their jobs falls on the desk of the remaining employees. Most of the employees are expatriates who moved to Switzerland for a job and if they loose their job, they don’t have much left. Sometimes they cannot even leave Switzerland as they have children at school and have built their social life in their new country. If they go back home (being the UK, US or anywhere else in the world) the wages are much lower, schooling might not be as good and they will also have to re-establish a social life. You can imagine that this overall scenario does not create a very good atmosphere at the office… This drives me even more in wanting to succeed in earning money online!

My ultimate goal is to be able to have the financial independence which would allow me to create a small charity, having enough money to live without counting and on top of it having more than enough to give to a needing cause. For me, this would be the ideal digital lifestyle! I guess I still have a long road ahead of me but I am ready to learn and to work hard to get there, there are no other ways as I am not in the mood to rob a bank 🙂

Well Folks, I don’t know if this post rings some bells in you but if it does, I’d love to hear from you, so do not hesitate to comment herebelow.

3 thoughts on “One day at work… why do I want the digital lifestyle so bad !

  1. Hahah, I know what you mean! The internet lifestyle is where it’s at, you do what you want, when you want, and how you want to. You gotta be about that life if you know what I mean lol 😉

  2. Pingback: Running the Rat Race and letting your life pass by… | michele makepeace

Leave a Reply

